Spiritual Geography
Spiritual Geography Podcast
Ep 19: When Spirituality Harms, Part 2
0:00
-12:58

Ep 19: When Spirituality Harms, Part 2

Hell? No.

What happens after we die is one of the greatest mysteries of humanity. The religious traditions of the world have various beliefs, ranging from disappearing into nothingness to reincarnation to the Christian concept of heaven and hell. So who goes to heaven and who deserves everlasting punishment?

Spiritual Geography is an email newsletter/podcast designed to help you find your unique home in the spiritual/religious universe. All content is free. Sign up here:

Speaking as if you know with certainty that hell exists and some significant subset of the population will stay there for all eternity is a spirituality that harms. This focus on a theoretical distant future with rules that vary based on who is proclaiming someone is on the road to hell, takes people away from Divine Love rather than towards it.

I don’t believe in a two-pathed afterlife, nor that only Christians have an afterlife in a pleasant place. My spiritual belief is that there is something beyond our understanding and earthly experience, whether someone calls that something God, the Transcendent, the Universe, Spirit, or something else. I believe that this something beyond our earthly experience has a core attribute of Love. I believe Divine Love is unconditional and there is room for growth after we die.

This conjectured system of heaven and hell does not make sense to me. If God (Spirit/Source) offers mercy and forgiveness, why would this end at death? A more equitable conception of the afterlife is that we are confronted with the repercussions and ramifications of our life - of the actions we took or failed to take - and then make amends for our wrongs. The afterlife is then more restorative justice and growth rather than interminable punishment.

We would then leave judgment to God (Source, the Universe, Spirit, etc.). Perhaps then we could focus on how we can become the best versions of ourselves while we’re still living instead of criticizing others for perceived sins.

I don’t know if I’m right or not, and I won’t know until I shuffle off this mortal coil. However, I can’t fathom that the Transcendent would condemn someone for all eternity. That doesn’t mesh with my personal spiritual experiences with Divine Love.

Since none of us can know if we’re right or not, be kind. Treat others as you yourself would want to be treated. Someone telling me I’m on the road to hell for my beliefs is not helpful, doesn’t change how I think or act, nor is a way I want to be treated.

Joni Miller is a writer, researcher, coach, and speaker who uses her knowledge, education, and love of all things spiritual to help others find their unique spiritual path. www.SpiritualGeography.net

Photo by Roman Biernacki: https://www.pexels.com/photo/crocus-flowers-in-the-garden-15846993/

Discussion about this podcast

Spiritual Geography
Spiritual Geography Podcast
Searching for our unique home in the spiritual/religious universe. Exploring a wide variety of other beliefs along the way.